The Lure of Netflix

Kwayde P’s thoughts:

Netflix logo

I desire to go home and watch Netflix, It is my sanctuary. It is all I look forward to. But I’m kept captive by the state–incarcerated in school instead of enjoying my on-point refuge of video streaming. I tolerate school all day – eight or nine hours of dreary, colorless monotony during which I could be watching The Walking Dead .

Netflix is more than a name. Its what tucks me in at night and says, “Hey, lets stay up all night and watch anime.” Its the voice that tells me to stay home the day after; “Stay in bed and watch movies, I’m all you need.” My soft bed is home waiting for me, beckoning for my posterior – my high definition television, the remote, and a box of tissues at my fingertips ready for the show.

This spectacle means that I don’t have to interact with other people.  I can just watch TV. Sometimes people get boring and annoying. I’m just lazy and sometimes its easier to watch something passively than to be productive and profitable. I’m tired of small talk – about insignificant things that aren’t interesting. It can’t hold my attention like bright colors, fast-moving explosions, and noises.  Wait, that sounds really shallow – it’s actually the storyline and content that grabs me.
I have an unconditional love for Netflix that cannot be tamed. Even if I was rich and made a million dollars, I would spend all my time watching Netflix. Sometimes it takes forever for them to update their current seasons of shows, but I don’t care. I can handle the wait. Sometimes they take off some really good movies and shows, but I don’t care. There’s more to choose from. Sometimes, when I have to search through all the B-rated horror movies and hentai videos, I cry tears of shame and disappointment. I don’t care, because it’s worth it.

The variety of shows and movies collected all in one place makes it difficult to choose. I can seriously search through Netflix as long as I want, but if I find a good show, I could spend weeks watching it, or binge watch a series in one night. And when its over I just don’t know what to do with myself. Its like I’ve lost a dear friend, that I’ve spent so much time with–long nights and lazy days.

Leave a Reply

